Board of Directors

Alcinda Shockey, BSDH, MA, DHSc,  President

Associate Professor WVU SOD

Ms. Shockey has been a member of the North Central West Virginia Community Action Association for eighteen years, as well as other national and state organizations related to education, public health, and dental hygiene.


Kim Tieman, MSW, ACSW, Vice President

Program Officer, Claude Worthington Benedum Foundation;

Incorporating Board of Directors member

Ms. Tieman is a ling-standing Coalition member and supporter of oral health in West Virginia. She brings experience in finance, administration, networking, grant writing, and advocacy. Ms. Tieman is the current co-chair of the WV Early Childhood Advisory Council’s Health Committee and has worked to educate this group about the importance of oral health and establishing a dental home.


Tiffany Summerlin, RDH, BSDH, Secretary

Monongalia County Health Department – Registered Dental Hygienist

Ms. Summerlin is a dental hygienist and current President-elect for the West Virginia Public Health Association’s Dental Section.  She brings experience in fundraising, public relations, nonprofits and networking.


Bobbi Jo Muto RDH, BS,MPH, Treasurer

Community Oral Health & Dental Sealant Coordinator, Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University, Marshall Family Medicine; incorporating Board of Directors member

Ms. Muto provides administrative oversight for Marshall University’s School-Community Oral Health Project and Regional Oral Health Coordinators.  She is a founding Coalition member and oral health champion in West Virginia, representing oral health and public health through several organizations including the DentaQuest Foundation and Association of National Oral Health Coalitions.




Mary Beth Shea, RDH, BA, AA

Dental Hygienist/Oral Health Coordinator, Mid-Ohio Valley Health Department

Ms. Shea currently serves as the Oral Health Coordinator at the Mid-Ohio Valley Health Department.  She has been involved in the WVOHC since its beginning and also works with several national, state, and local organizations, including the West Virginia Dental Hygienists Association, West Virginia Board of Dentistry and the West Virginia Perinatal Partnerships.


A. P. “Butch” Varchetto, DDS

Retired Oral Surgeon, WVDHHR/OHP Technical Assistance Team

Dr. Varchetto is a graduate of West Virginia University School of Dentistry. He build a successful oral surgery practice in Parkersburg WV.  Dr Varchetto retired from private practice in 2004 and currently works part-time as part of the Oral Health Program’s workforce Technical Assistance Team and brings experience in finance, administration and networking.


Sherri Hudgins, RN, BSN,NCSN

Wood County School Nurse

Ms. Hudgins currently coordinates with her local health department to provide school-based dental services and administer fluoride mouth rinse in her school.  She is a member of the National Association of School Nurses, as well as the West Virginia Association of School Nurses.

Jason Roush, DDS, WV State Dental Director

Dr. Roush is a graduate of West Virginia University School of Dentistry and has a successful private practice in Parkersburg WV. He has previously been on staff at Camden Clark Memorial Hospital, provided dental care for inmates as well as  provided school-based dental care. Dr. Roush accepted the position of State Dental Director in 2010. He is President-elect of the ASTDD and currently chairs the Fluoride Committee. Dr. Roush is also a Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Dental Practice and Rural Health for WVU School of Dentistry.

Barb Thaxton, BSDH, MS Coordinator

Ms. Thaxton is has many years of experience in both general and pediatric practices. She has served as part of the West Virginia Oral Health Program’s Technical Assistance Team, serving as adjunct faculty with Bridge Valley CTC, has experience in mobile dental clinics providing care within the school setting as well as with providing care for our military reserve and national guard units and holding a contractual position with Marshall University School of Medicine.